Our Gin

Our Gin

For over a year Kit and Joseph tirelessly composed different blends of botanicals, working closely with local farmers and suppliers to best understand the terroir and aromas that truly represent Hong Kong – whilst achieving the ultimate harmony and balance of complex flavour. The result is a bottle of gin that captures the very heart and soul of Hong Kong. A small sip is enough to transport you to the blossoming breezy summer in the colourful streets of Hong Kong, wherever you may be. Inspired botanicals from the heritage of Hong Kong are harmoniously coupled with classically recognised gin tones to create the sumptuous and refreshing aromas of Perfume Trees Gin. Since it’s launch, Perfume Trees Gin has been awarded in almost every major competition in the world.

NOTABLE AWARDS

  • 2020 World Gin Awards
    Best Design Label
  • 2019 Gin Masters Asia (UK)
    Gold
  • 2019 World Gin Award (UK)
    Best Contemporary Dutch Gin
  • 2019 International Wine and Spirits Competition (UK)
    90 pts
  • 2019 Gin Masters (UK)
    Silver
  • 2019 China Wine and Spirits Association
    Double Gold
  • 2019 SIP Award (USA)
    Platinum - Best Of Class (Gin)

White Champaca Flowers (白蘭花)

White Champaca Tree is nicknamed “Perfume Tree” for its elegant fragrances, these trees once were found all over the city. As we are encapsulating stories of a generation, what better choice other than life undeath the Perfume Trees.

Perfume Tress blossom is a humble plant that supports the living of elder lady in Hong Kong and were sold around the city’s street corners. But the essential oil of Champaca was also known as the most expensive essential oil in the world, and was often used as ingredient of the world’s most premium perfumes.

As we know it, most other gin brands use dried botanicals. It also happens that White Champaca flower and a very short shelve life, roughly 6-7 hours before it wilts when leaving in room temperature. In a place like Hong Kong where industrial agriculture has moved abroad, trying to source a steady supply has been a challenge. It took us almost one year looking to find a reliable supply of organic flower farm in Taiwan.

Listen to its story

Sandalwood (檀香)

In part, Hong Kong owes this fragrant ingredient its name. If you look at what ‘Hong Kong’ actually means, it translates quite literally to ‘Fragrance Harbour’. This pays homage to the city’s long history as a port town and a place of trade for spices and fragrant goods from all over the world. This included Indian sandalwood! If you visit temples in Hong Kong today, they’re filled with the scent of this ingredient.

A historical memory of the aromatic woods that once flowed through our island harbour, leading to its name of the Port of Fragrance, and still used in temples around the corners of Hong Kong. We source our sandalwood from “Wing Lee 永利檀香”, providing incense sticks for over a century.

Listen to its story

15 Year Old Aged Tangerine Peel
(15年陳皮)

If you walk the streets of Hong Kong in the summer, you’ll see bunches of tangerines drying in the sun. As a common Chinese proverb says, aged tangerine peel is worth its weight in gold. Kit and Joseph source aged tangerine peel from a local family business called “Tung Cheong 同昌海味”. First opened in 1971, three generations of the Cheong family have worked there, treating tangerine peels.

Albert of Tung Cheong smiles, “We first opened in 1971, but my family has been in the business for over a century. Traditionally aged tangerine has been to infuse wine in China, but this is the first time it has been used to make a gin.” The aging process softens the bitterness of the peel, and through trial and error, the folk at Cheong have discovered that 15 years is the perfect length of time to cultivate the best citrusy fragrance and flavour. Albert explains, “People often have the misconception that the older the tangerine is, the better it smells. But that’s not always true! You can’t tell by just looking at the surface, you have to break a piece open to release the scent.”

Traditional gin contains citrus notes, often lemon or grapefruit peels. We selected a signature citrus ingredient from the east, aged Tangerine peel. The bitterness of the tangerine peel has been softened by its long aging process, leaving only the sweet citrusy flavour that has become a traditional seasoning with medicinal properties throughout southern Chinese culture.

Listen to its story

Long Jing Green Tea
(龍井茶)

Also known as the ‘dragon well tea’, longjing green tea is fragrant and sweet. Kit and Joseph source the potent botanical from ‘’Ming Heung Tea茗香茶莊’’. Michael of Ming Heung says, “I have been working in the tea industry for my whole life, ever since I could remember. The business started in 1963 with my dad selling tea leaves on his bike. My dad eventually met two teachers, who taught him to master the principles of making good tea.” He passed on that knowledge to his children, and today Ming Heung trades the very finest teas, including the longjing tea in your April gin. Michael smiles, “Our longjing tea is known for it’s freshness.”

As with everything in Perfume Trees gin, we have carefully selected a premium tea blend of Long Jing green tea from a traditional tea house of over 50 years old in Hong Kong to give a strong and flavourful foundation to the gin.

Listen to its story

Chinese Angelica
(當歸)

A lesser known ingredient that is traditional used in gin is western angelica, used to help fix the collective flavours. We have chosen instead to use Chinese angelica, a distinctive warm, earthy and liquorice has been used providing a longer after taste with a hint of Chinese herbal aroma.

It is important to us to work with small local producers and family businesses, especially those based in Hong Kong. These local botanicals require consistence, and these time-honoured vendors do give us confidence on that. Theses family business has spent many generations to preserve certain flavours, and we simply want to bring these flavours to the rest of the world. An olfactory journey through our beloved city.

Where are
The flavors From?

Hong Kong
Indonesia
India
Uzbekistan
Ukraine
Turkey
Bosnia - Herzegovina
Morocco
Guatemala
Taiwan
  • White Champaca Flowers (白蘭花)

  • 15 Year Old Aged Tangerine Peel
    (15年陳皮)

  • Long Jing Green Tea
    (龍井茶)

  • Chinese Angelica
    (當歸)

  • CINNAMON

  • Sandalwood (檀香)

  • CORIANDER SEED

  • LIQUORICE

  • LEMON PEEL

  • GRAPEFRUIT PEEL

  • JUNIPER BERRY

  • ORRIS ROOT

  • GREEN CARDAMOM POD

  • White Champaca Flowers (白蘭花)

樹下的氈酒

樹下的氈酒

為求真正呈現屬於香港的風土及香氣,Kit 與 Joseph 花上超過一年時間,與本地農夫及供應商緊密聯繫,學習不同草本植物的特質與個性,最終成功在複雜的風味之中,達至終極和諧與平衡感。這瓶氈酒完美抓緊香港最核心的情懷與靈魂,無論你身在何地,細呷一口都足以帶你穿越色彩繽紛的香港街頭,享受夏日微風細細吹拂起那充滿回憶的花香。

如此活潑的風味,讓「白蘭樹下」自推出起,已深受香港人鍾情,更橫掃幾乎每一個國際主要酒評賽事的獎項,以證其跨越國界的吸引力。

主要榮獲獎項

  • 2020 World Gin Awards
    Best Design Label
  • 2019 Gin Masters Asia (UK)
    Gold
  • 2019 World Gin Award (UK)
    Best Contemporary Dutch Gin
  • 2019 International Wine and Spirits Competition (UK)
    90 pts
  • 2019 Gin Masters (UK)
    Silver
  • 2019 China Wine and Spirits Association
    Double Gold
  • 2019 SIP Award (USA)
    Platinum - Best Of Class (Gin)

白蘭花

白蘭花(台灣稱為「玉蘭花」)為植根於香港的常綠喬木,芳蹤處處可尋,見證了城巿的幾許風雨,正好成為「白蘭樹下」的靈魂氣息,封印幾代人的香港故事。

每到夏日,白蘭花幽幽香氣撲鼻而來,靈巧的小白花優雅而低調,既成為我們的集體回憶,亦同時支撐住不少老婆婆的生計,為城巿每個角落都注入溫柔。而這小白花所精煉而成的香精油,更被譽為全球最昂貴的香精油,常被用以製作世界各地最高級的香水。

一般氈酒品牌所採用的草本材料都以風乾植物為主,但我們執意使用新鮮白蘭花,以萃取最清鮮的香氣。然而,白蘭花的保鮮期非常短,於室溫下放置大約6至7個小時便會開始凋零枯萎,加上香港地的工業化農業早已遷往外地,要尋得質素與供應皆穩定的花農可謂難上加難。為此,我們特別用上整整一年時間,終於敲定從台灣的有機花卉農場採購,成為可靠的鮮花供應源。

細味白蘭花故事

檀香

追溯昔日香港,這裡曾經是香料及香薰產品通往世界各地的經商轉口港,讓「香港」不負其名,成為顧名思義的「香氣之港」。當中的香薰產品,正正包括了印度檀香,並一直承襲傳統,成為奉於神壇的香火,至今仍能於城中各處的寺廟中,尋得香氣芳蹤。

陣陣充滿歷史印記的香氣,曾經穿梭連接島嶼的港口,來到今日,我們選擇扎根香港逾百年的「永利檀香」,成為我們的檀香供應商,為醇酒注入百年歷史氣息。

細味檀香故事

15年陳皮

遊走於香港的街道上,偶爾能看到一串串剝去果肉的柑皮,愜意地沐浴於夏天的晴朗陽光之中,慢慢風乾成陳皮。正所謂「一両陳皮一両金」,Kit 與 Joseph 為著這珍貴的傳統藥材,特意找來開業接近50年的家族乾貨店「同昌海味」家搜購優質陳皮。

身為第三代店主,李漢興的回憶裡總帶著溫暖的笑意,「同昌海味於1971年在海味街成立,但其實爺爺、爸爸和伯父從過百年前,就開始這門生意。」累積多年的經驗成為今天實踐的力量,就如陳皮一樣,在陳年的過程中被歲月滋養,減退了苦澀,卻綻放出芳香,「很多人都誤以為陳皮必定是越舊越香,其實並不一定。老陳皮從表面已聞不出氣味,但只要撕開一角,迷人香氣即撲鼻而來。」

對他來說,陳皮用在浸製中式藥酒上,絕非新鮮事,但用於配合西方氈酒,卻是第一次聽聞。為此,他與「白蘭樹下」團隊合力細心揀選不同年份的陳皮,並在多番嘗試及配合之下,終敲定15年是用以製作氈酒的最佳陳皮年份。悠悠15年,以經歷擦走稜角而留下的細膩橘橙甜香,將取代傳統常用的檸檬或柚子皮,煥化成帶有藥用價值的傳統東方氣息。

細味陳皮故事

龍井茶

「白蘭樹下」的每一種材料都經Kit與Joseph精挑細選,當中龍井茶就選自香港擁有超過50年歷史的「茗香茶莊」。茗香第三代店主陳政建笑稱一出生就做茶葉,成長於這個茶葉世家,一直在茶香中長大,「我們起始於1963年,由我爸爸一個人踏著單車開始。他遇上兩個貴人,一喝就知道你的哪個工序做得不好,然後就帶著爸爸逐一學習。」

對於龍井茶葉,店主強調「最重要嫩,且帶清新味道和豆香味。」這些珍貴的知識如今傳到下一代,亦將茶莊數十年間的優秀選茶及炒茶技藝得以傳承,成就我們的氈酒中,濃重而美味的基底風味。

細味龍井故事

當歸

傳統氈酒中,歐白芷是一種較少人談及卻同樣重要的材料,有聚合及穩定各種風味的功能。不說不知,歐白芷其實是當歸的近親,為此我們特意選用了當歸這種珍貴的中國藥材以取代歐白芷,將溫潤泥土與甘草風味,轉化成帶有中草藥香氣的悠長餘韻。

對「白蘭樹下」團隊來說,尋找扎根香港的小型本地生產商及家庭企業,是非常重要的精神價值。我們所選用的草本植物,質素及供應量都必需穩定,而這些歷史悠久的合作夥伴,以幾代人的歲月去保留最正宗的風味,不單給予我們信心,更讓我們決意將穿越香江小城的味覺之旅,延伸至世界每一個角落。

追尋味道之源

香港
台灣
印度
印尼
危地馬拉
摩洛哥
波斯尼亞和黑塞哥維那
烏克蘭
土耳其
烏茲別克斯坦
  • 白蘭花

  • 15年陳皮

  • 龍井茶

  • 當歸

  • 白蘭花

  • 檀香

  • 肉桂

  • 小荳蔻莢

  • 鳶尾根

  • 杜松子

  • 甘草

  • 檸檬皮

  • 西柚皮

  • 荽芫籽